Recipes

Very Vegan Quinoa Salad

Another Fourth of July has come and gone, and I am as sad as ever. If I’m honest, Independence Day is probably my  favorite holiday. Then again, I also say that about Thanksgiving…and Easter…haha and Christmas. Oops. What can I say?? I love celebrations! Do you know why? I’ll tell you. It’s because everyone comes together to rejoice in what they cherish in their hearts. 

And would you like to know what I cherish? The United States of America! Man, I love this place. When I hear songs like Born in The U.S.A, Country Nation, and Home, my heart just swells up and I’m reminded that there’s just no place like it. Chanting “U-S-A! U-S-A!” with my fellow citizens makes my heart boom louder than the bombs-bursting-in-air fireworks up above, and I feel truly proud to be an American.

So mushy, I know. But, oh, so true! And that is why the Fourth of July will always be at the top of my list!

IMG_2115

AND SO

IMG_2118I decided to make this awesome quinoa salad to bring to watch Macy’s fireworks display on the East River. Luckily, we were inside because, (would you believe it??) it rained! But my fellow Americans outside toughed it out and watched the marvelous show. 

This recipe is light and refreshing, yet so flavorful. It’s the perfect summer dish or side. Enjoy!!IMG_2121

 

Very Vegan Quinoa Salad

Ingredients:

For salad

3/4 cup quinoa

1 1/2 cups water

1/4 tbsp Adobo (optional)

1/2 red pepper diced

1 cup frozen corn

1/4 cup cilantro chopped

1/2 cup cherry tomatoes quartered

1 cup sliced cucumber

For dressing:

3 tbsp bee free honey

2 tbsp apple cider vinegar

Black pepper as needed

1/4 tsp salt

 

Directions:

  1. Prepare quinoa (I recommend dry frying before cooking for a crispier texture)
  2. While quinoa is cooking, combine honey, vinegar, black pepper and salt
  3. After the quinoa has cooled, combine quinoa, red pepper, corn, cilantro, cherry tomatoes, and cucumber.
  4. Combine salad and dressing when ready to serve
  5. Serve and say,God Bless America!”

 

One thought on “Very Vegan Quinoa Salad

  1. Ok…….. You simply cease to amaze me !!!!! This is absolutely wonderful!! You are so much like your MOTHER ! ( which is a good thing 😉 Keep surprising me !!

    Like

Leave a Reply

