Recipes

Simply Sweet Potato Fries with Vegan Chipotle Mayo

If you know me, you know I have a problem.

It starts with “s” and ends with “weet potatoes.” And it’s the best problem ever. I don’t remember when, exactly, I became addicted to sweet potatoes, but I know it was at some point last autumn when I finally got over the fear of eating more than a minute amount of potatoes and carbs, in general. They’re really not calorically dense at all, but anything except plain low-calorie veggies like broccoli, baby carrots, and leafy greens used to freak me out to the max. IMG_1852

I’m so beyond grateful that those days are over because, Jiminy Cricket, I have no clue how I could possibly survive without the scrumptious custard of a freshly baked potato in my life.

Plus,

they’re abundant in B6, potassium, copper, vitamin C, manganese and fiber! What more can you ask for??

IMG_1867Oh, options? You’ve got it.

From Okinawan, to Oriental, Russet, to Ube, to Fingerling, potatoes offer countless favors and even more recipes.  Every time I watch those perfectly caramelized, or superbly roasted spuds emerge from the oven, I wish I could hug whoever dug those suckers out of the ground. I love those guys to the Incan Empire and back.

Sigh.

IMG_1880IMG_1871IMG_1888

So, I’ve thrown together a little recipe to meet your basic sweet potato and dip needs- sweet potato fries. But they’re baked. Does that make them bakes?? All I know is they’re delicious.

Talk soon, Spud Buds!

Elizabeth

Simply Sweet Potato Fries

Fries:

4 sweet potatoes

1 tsp turmeric

1 tsp cayenne

½ tsp chili powder

2 tsp olive oil

sea salt

Chipotle Dip:

1/3 cup vegan mayo (Vegenaise)

1 tbsp chipotle sauce (or more, if you’re daring)

1 tbsp Bee Free honey

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400
  2. Wash and peel sweet potatoes
  3. Slice widthwise into rounds, and then into fry-size pieces.
  4. Mix turmeric, cayenne, and chili powder in small bowl.
  5. Toss sweet potatoes and olive oil in a large bowl.
  6. Add spices and fully coat sweet potatoes.
  7. Place sweet potatoes on parchment-lined baking trays and sprinkle them in sea salt.
  8. Bake at 400 for 30 minutes- turning halfway.
  9. While the fries bake, combine mayo, chipotle and honey.
  10. Dip, bite, enjoy, say “yum!”
2 thoughts on “Simply Sweet Potato Fries with Vegan Chipotle Mayo

Leave a Reply

