Recipes

Cake Batter Quinoa Porridge

Happy Thursday everybody!!

We’ve got a few hours until the weekend high kicks in, so a kick-booty breakfast to power through the day is an absolute must.

IMG_2357
I discovered this recipe yesterday, because I had planned on making a fruity quinoa porridge, but could only find 1/4 cup of quinoa!! Shame on me for not restocking. So, I combined the quinoa with some cream of wheat instead.

IMG_2363

I bought some vegan cake mix a few weeks ago, and I wish I could tell you it’s because I plan on making some pretty, decorate vegan cake some time soon… it’s not! The truth is, I love, love, love cake batter and I love, love, love pops of color in my recipes. A tablespoon of brightly colored cake mix in smoothies and oats really does the trick.

Of course, colorful, nutritious fruit and spirulina work sometimes, but what fruit tastes like a vanilla cupcake? If you know, please share below.

So, in accordance with what I was craving and what I could find in my kitchen, here’s what I came up with!

IMG_2376

Ingredients:

For the Quinoa:

1/4 cup dry quinoa

3/4 cup water

For the Cream of Wheat:

3 tbsp cream of wheat

1 1/4 cup water

1 tbsp vegan cake mix

1 sliced banana

1 tbsp organic sugar

1 tbsp chia seeds

1 tbsp coconut flakes

1/2 cup coconut milk

1 tbsp cocoa powder

Instructions:

  1. First, toast the quinoa in a pan. Simply wash the quinoa, and then dry-fry it over a medium-low flame. This step is optional, but it gives the quinoa a much nuttier flavor.
  2. Bring the water for the quinoa to a boil, stir in the quinoa, and reduce heat to a simmer for about ten minutes, or until all the water is absorbed. Stir occasionally to prevent quinoa from burning.
  3. While the quinoa simmers, boil remaining 1 1/4 cups of water in a separate pan and stir in the cream of wheat.
  4. Before all the water has been absorbed, add cake mix and half the sliced banana.
  5. Combine the prepared quinoa and cake batter cream of wheat in a bowl and top with remaining banana, chia seeds, coconut flakes, and sugar.
  6. Combine the cocoa powder and milk and pour over porridge.
  7. Enjoy and say, ” More for moi!”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

